01 June 2017 / Club News

Annual Dinner

A successful annual dinner was held at Aberystwyth RFC on Friday 26th May 2017.  The guest speaker was the renowned international referee Derek Bevan, who enthralled the large audience with tales from his long career, including refereeing two World Cup Finals.  The other speeches celebrated Aberystwyth’s successful introduction to Division 1 rugby, where for most of the season they had been challenging for leadership.


Players’ ties were awarded to:

Owain Bonsall, Dean Coleman, Matthew Hughes, Gareth Jones, Connor Pitt, James Plumridge, Steffan Rees and Jordan Thomas.


Life membership was awarded to Peter Bourne, one of the original players from the formation of the club.


The award winners for the 2016-17 season were:


Player of the Year                                        James Plumridge


Al ‘Gog’ Evans Commitment Award         Paul Stubbs


Most Improved Player                                  Owain Bonsall


Maorist Clubman Award                             Roger Owen

(For his committed support home and away to the team which he only accepted on behalf of all those who follow Aberystwyth regularly)


Achievement Award                                                Glan Thomas

(For his work as Fixture Secretary and Estates Organiser)


For the second year running, the catering was organised by James Ward and the students of Coleg Ceredigion.  They produced a meal of a very high standard, which was thoroughly enjoyed by all.

There doesn't appear to be any tagged photos.

Upload and Tag Photos

You must be signed in to add comments